Post#1

One of the best things about being a farmer is telling people about being a farmer so I thought for a first post I would do a quick recap on why it’s awesome to be a farmer and then top it off with Stew’s somewhat biased top 10 “Why it’s cool to be a farmer” list.

The neatest thing about being a farmer is that at the end of the day, no matter what type of farm you are from; you get to be part of a storied fraternity that has fed people for centuries.  You are one of the few who have maintained our roots to the land and the know-how to wake up in the morning and make food for the world.  Granted, sometimes it is really early in the morning and there are some unpleasant parts of the job; I do not enjoy having to pressure wash a barn when it is -30 degrees Celsius in January (for you non farmers, think washing your car, soaking wet, continuously for eight hours) but no job is perfect.

Farming today is a lot different today then it was when the first Skinners came to Perth County to farm back in 1859. On average, today’s farmer can produce enough food to feed 120 people compared to 12 people per farmer in 1900, (http://www.ofac.org).  The six generations of Skinners have witnessed some marvellous inventions in agriculture throughout their time farming here in Ontario: the threshing machine, the tractor, the milker, a bigger tractor, the combine, an even bigger tractor, the robot that milks your cows, and finally a tractor that can drive itself.  While technology has changed the way we farm, the end goal is still the same; work hard every day to produce high quality food and take care of the environment around you for the generations to follow.

Now, on to the Top 10 “Why I think it’s cool to be a farmer”

Ten: I can take the occasional nap after lunch

Nine: Getting to drive really big machines

Eight: I get an amazing tan…on my arms at least

Seven: I’ll never have to buy a gym membership

Six: I get to see the odd sunrise

Five: I get to eat what I make at work

Four: I rocked wellies before Burberry made them cool

Three: Getting to see things being born

Two: Manure is an excellent exfoliate

One: I feed people

7 thoughts on “Post#1

  1. Cathy Dibble says:

    great background Stewart!!! good luck!

  2. Mladen Stojcic says:

    Good read Stew. Keep em’ coming.

  3. Great job, Stew- I always love reading your stuff!! I agree with Mladen, keep em’ coming!

  4. Big G. says:

    Thanks great article may you can also mention you participate in cruelty to our fellow beings.

    Genesis 1:29, God’s first dietary law: “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.”

    Not some pigs. This is mans own lust for flesh.

    • anonymous says:

      When using the bible as supporting reference, one must take into consideration more than one small snippet picked to prove a point. The proof saying that GOD had every intention of giving man living animals and meat is undeniable and is proven in many different settings.

      Genesis 9:1-3 “Then God blessed Noah and his sons, saying to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number and fill the earth. The fear and dread of you will fall upon all of the beasts of the earth and all the birds of the air, upon every creature that moves along the ground, and upon all the fish of the sea; they are given into your hands. Everything that lives and moves will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, now I give you everything.”

      Additional proof is found in the verses of Exodus 16 when GOD sends manna and quail as nourishment.

  5. Joanna says:

    Very good first post. I like the idea! (Working on starting my own blog soon!)

  6. Excellent post! Welcome to the world of blogging. It’s really a great tool to share what we do on our farms everyday, while feeding the world! Hope to read more from you soon!

Leave a comment